Caron in Pennsylvania: 800-854-6023
Caron Renaissance in Florida: 800-221-6500
Caron Ocean Drive in Florida: 800-221-1170
Contact Us
Press Release

Caron Philadelphia Hosts 16th Annual Richard J. Caron Award of Excellence Gala to Benefit Patient Scholarships

Honoring Daniel J. Hilferty, President and CEO of Independence Blue Cross

Philadelphia – Nov. 5, 2015 – Caron Philadelphia honored Daniel J. Hilferty, President and CEO of Independence Blue Cross, with the Richard J. Caron Award of Excellence at its 16th annual gala on Wednesday, Nov. 4 at the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts. The event raised more than $500,000 to support patient scholarships.

“We are thrilled to honor such a special individual,” said Doug Tieman, President and CEO of Caron. “Addiction is a disease that impacts people from all walks of life. Dan has been a passionate advocate for addiction treatment programs and gone above and beyond to make a difference in the community.”

More than 485 guests attended the Gala with Brian Taff, co-anchor of Action News at 4 pm (6ABC) and Action News at 10 pm (PHL17), as the master of ceremonies. Caron also honored Duane Morris LLP with the 2015 Partner in Recovery Award. Special guest artists included Eric Bazilian, Rob Hyman, and David Uosikkinen of the American rock band, The Hooters.

Funds raised at the Gala will support patient scholarships throughout the continuum of care provided at Caron Pennsylvania and Caron Renaissance, and also support Caron’s mission of providing Recovery For Life through unique services. Caron Philadelphia holds Parent Support Groups and is active in prevention and education throughout the Philadelphia region.

“I’m truly honored to receive this award from Caron,” said Hilferty. “We have all seen how addiction can tear a family apart. But Caron shows us how treatment can not only heal a family, but also make them stronger than ever. I’m grateful for the exceptional team at Caron for their passion and commitment to education, treatment, and recovery.”

Caron also wishes to acknowledge its Legacy of Hope sponsors including: The Wall/Uebler family; The Christopher and Ellen Maguire Foundation and The Maguire Foundation; The Patrick E. Rogers Endowment; and The Ed Satell Family.

Richard J. Caron Award of Excellence Honoree
Daniel J. Hilferty is president and chief executive officer of Independence Blue Cross, one of the nation’s leading health insurers. Since Hilferty became CEO in 2010, the number of people the company serves has tripled to nearly 10 million in 24 states and the District of Columbia, including 2.5 million in southeastern Pennsylvania. Deeply committed to the greater Philadelphia region, Hilferty serves on the boards of the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, and the Catholic Foundation of Greater Philadelphia. He served as co-chair of the Executive Leadership Cabinet supporting the World Meeting of Families and Papal Visit to Philadelphia, and serves as finance chairman for the 2016 Democratic National Convention. Nationally, Hilferty serves on the boards of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association and America’s Health Insurance Plans.

Partner in Recovery Award Honoree
Evolving from a partnership of prominent lawyers in Philadelphia a century ago, Duane Morris exemplifies a commitment to the community and strong values of philanthropy and good citizenship. In 2014, 85 volunteers dedicated over 3,350 hours of pro bono legal assistance to aiding human trafficking survivors, and another 50 volunteers dedicated over 1,000 pro bono hours to assist veterans and service members seeking disability benefits, compensation for combat injuries and other aid. Duane Morris has provided Caron with philanthropic support for more than 15 years and has encouraged staff to serve in volunteer capacities on Caron committees and the Philadelphia Regional Advisory Board.

Event co-chairs include: Marguerite Schroeder and Lone H. Spillard. The Gala Steering Committee included: Jody Abrams, Kathy Albanese, Ben Alexander, Erica Barnes, Amara Briggs, Sherri Belkoff, Sean Campbell, Dominique Caron, Jeanne Craft, Linda Caron Denby, Mark Duffy, Lee Durst-Roisman. Barbara McCollum, Bill Roberts, Pam Roberts, Karen Galczenski, Michael Rogers, Richard Roisman, Kim Rubenstein and Michael Tornvall.

Honorary Chairs include: Christopher Cashman, A. Bruce Crawley, Walter D’Alessio, William P. Hankowsky, Ronald Rubin, Judith M. von Seldeneck and Steven R. Wall.